Oooppss!
You're now reading....
All Categories, Community

A Simple Case of Cheating

I spend most of my time after work updating one of my three blogs. As I was teetering on the brink of aloneness and loneliness, I have since few days ago been holing myself up in my room trying to find instead blogs on the net, particularly those within my WordPress community, about how to cope with being alone and being lonely.

While I found a lot of must-reads among the blogs I viewed, I had this strange feeling of surprise – perhaps, shock – when I discovered my write-up “Kevin Villanueva: A Phenomenal Celebrity,” which I posted on April 6, saw posted on another blog on April 12 or after with a title changed to “Kevin Villanueva: Sophisticated Student.”

Image representing Associated Press as depicte...

Image via CrunchBase

This is somehow reminiscent of the days when I, working in a Cebu’s local newspaper, was at times tasked to find on PNA, AP, AFP or Reuters some news stories to be posted in the Nation, World and Business sections with edited headlines and contents. It is acceptable, though, as our newspaper is, I think, officially subscribed to these news agencies, and changes made on these news stories by section editors were in accordance with the newspaper’s newswriting standard.

“Kevin Villanueva: Sophisticated Student” is not a reblogging.  It is not a crib either.  To call it a reblogging or a crib is inappropriate.  You just call it a copy of my own. After all, my post is not copyrighted. Or, is it copyrightable?  But there is one thing for certain.  Before coming up with an article about Kevin Villanueva, I sought his permission by sending him a private message on Facebook.  The message was, thus:

Private Message to Kevin Villanueva“Hi Kevin. I saw on Facebook your photo with a message so emotionally touching to everyone.  May I ask permission to post it on my blog, “Of Life and The Living” (URL: www.oflifendtheliving.wordpress.com)? If you may, may I get some info about you on [erratum: this should have read ‘from’] your Facebook profile?  This info will be used for me to write a short feature article about you.”

Private Message from Kevin VillanuevaAnd I got his permission.  “Sure 🙂 Thank you :),” Kevin replied.

In “Kevin Villanueva: Sophisticated Student,” some parts of the first and last paragraphs were missing – I don’t know if they were intentionally omitted – and Kevin’s photo taken by the grave of his parents was placed on the right side and the cropped photo of his face, on the left side.

There is nothing wrong with reblogging a post as long as credit is given to the original blogger.  In fact, I reblogged on March 6, 2012 a post, “Highest and Best…..” from Tracie Louise Photography.  For you to know if I gave Tracie Louise due credit, click this link http://wp.me/p11Gpl-gN.

But there is something wrong with plagiarizing it or posting it as if it were your own. It is an act of cheating.  In plagiarism,  you are cheating not yourself alone but your readers as well.

About Danilo Tao-tuan Naraja

I am an expatriate based in Jubail, Saudi Arabia and work in the Admin and HR Division of an oil and gas company. I am an HR practitioner for more than a decade. I used to work for a Cebu-based local newspaper. I love to write human interest stories and started writing when I was still in high school.

Discussion

One thought on “A Simple Case of Cheating

  1. There’s a reason why we have a reblog or share button. So weirdo that there are people who were too lazy to come up with their own ideas. If they don’t want to give credit to other people’s work, no matter how silly it is, then they don’t have a choice but to use their own fuckin’ neurons.

    Like

    Posted by meNggay | April 16, 2013, 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,802 hits

Of Life and The Living Logo

